Skip to content

The monument to the Peaceful Revolution is located in the middle of Berlin! My guest article for the Tagesspiegel

Today 31 years ago the Berlin Wall fell.

In an essay for the Berlin-based newspaper “Tagesspiegel“, I make a case for the need to improve awareness-raising on the achievements of the Peaceful Revolution. An excellent place for doing this would be the former Stasi headquarters in Berlin-Lichtenberg.

As a politician working on foreign affairs, I frequently talk to people living in countries where the government oppresses the population and the secret service is omnipresent. On numerous occasions, activists have told me about their admiration for the peaceful resistance carried out by the civilian population in the GDR, which led to the end of the regime. This revolution remains a sign of hope for human rights defenders all over the world.

But this part of our history often does not receive the recognition it deserves. The Stasi documentation office, which is very well suited for this purpose, remains a sad, grey place.

My suggestion is therefore: we should turn the grounds into a place of exchange, where history becomes tangible and Berliners as well as guests from all over the world can discuss the lessons history holds for today.

You can read here what exactly this could look like (in German):

My Essay for Tagesspiegel

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Latest Articles

Skip to content

Das Denkmal für die friedliche Revolution liegt mitten in Berlin! Mein Gastbeitrag für den Tagesspiegel

Heute vor 31 Jahren ist die Berliner Mauer gefallen.

Für den Tagesspiegel habe ich in einem Essay dafür plädiert, die Friedliche Revolution in der Öffentlichkeit stärker in den Fokus zu rücken. Ein hervorragender Ort hierfür wäre die ehemalige Stasi-Zentrale in Berlin-Lichtenberg.

Als Außenpolitikerin bin ich häufig mit Menschen im Gespräch, die in Ländern leben, in denen das Regime die Bevölkerung unterdrückt und der Geheimdienst omnipräsent ist. Aktivist*innen berichten mir oft von ihrer Bewunderung für den erfolgreichen friedlichen Widerstand durch die Zivilbevölkerung in der DDR. Dieser ist und bleibt ein Zeichen der Hoffnung für Menschenrechtler*innen überall auf der Welt.

Doch dieser Teil unserer Geschichte wird bisher nicht angemessen gewürdigt. Die Stasiunterlagenbehörde, eigentlich wunderbar geeignet für ein angemessenes Gedenken, bleibt ein trauriger, grauer Ort.

Mein Vorschlag ist daher: Wir sollten das Gelände in einen Ort des Austauschs verwandeln, wo Geschichte (an)fassbar wird und Berliner*innen und Gäste aus aller Welt über die Lehren für das Heute diskutieren könnten.

Wie genau das aussehen kann, lest ihr hier:

Mein Gastbeitrag im Tagesspiegel

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Neueste Artikel