Skip to content

War in Syria: Humanitarian aid alone is not enough - My OpEd on euobserver

The frustration is great in and with Brussels. Syria lies in the neighbourhood of the European Union. From Larnaca in Cyprus it is 200 kilometres to the Syrian coast. The impact of the conflict on the civilian population and the region is hard to put into words. But the EU's influence has been close to zero in recent years. Figuratively speaking, it stands on the sidelines. This is because up to now it has been those who have been militarily engaged - first and foremost Russia, Iran and most recently Turkey.

The EU is now the largest donor of humanitarian aid. Today the fourth Syria Donors' Conference is taking place - but money alone is not enough: EU aid has so far been granted largely without conditions. Why and how the EU has to change its strategy in Syria, I have explained in eubobserver.

Was es jetzt braucht:

"We will have to ask ourselves: Under what conditions should the EU engage? What influence do we want to secure? With whom are we prepared to cooperate? And above all: how do we deal with those who have committed atrocious human rights crimes? It goes without saying that Bashar al-Assad must be brought before the International Criminal Court."

My entire opinion piece on the euobserver

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Latest Articles

Skip to content

Krieg in Syrien: Mit humanitärer Hilfe allein ist es nicht getan – Mein OpEd im euobserver

Der Frust ist groß in und mit Brüssel. Syrien liegt in der Nachbarschaft der Europäischen Union. Von Larnaka auf Zypern sind es 200 Kilometer bis zur syrischen Küste. Die Auswirkungen des Konflikts auf die Zivilbevölkerung und die Region sind kaum in Worte zu fassen. Aber der Einfluss der EU ging in den vergangenen Jahren gegen Null. Sie steht, bildlich gesprochen, an der Seitenlinie. Das liegt daran, dass bisher diejenigen das Geschehen bestimmten, die sich militärisch engagierten – allen voran Russland, der Iran und zuletzt die Türkei.

Bereits jetzt ist die EU die größte Geldgeberin für humanitäre Hilfe. Heute findet die vierte Syrien-Geberkonferenz statt – aber allein mit Geld ist es nicht getan: Bisher werden EU-Hilfen weitgehend ohne Bedingungen gewährt. Warum und wie die EU ihre Strategie in Syrien ändern muss, habe ich im eubobserver erklärt.

Was es jetzt braucht:

"Wir werden uns fragen müssen: Unter welchen Bedingungen sollte sich die EU engagieren? Welchen Einfluss wollen wir uns sichern? Mit wem sind wir zur Zusammenarbeit bereit? Und vor allem: Wie gehen wir mit denen um, die grausame Menschenrechtsverbrechen begangen haben? Es ist selbstverständlich, dass Baschar al-Assad vor den Internationalen Strafgerichtshof gebracht werden muss."

Mein gesamter Kommentar im euobserver

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Neueste Artikel