Skip to content
Hannah Neumann zu Gast bei der Deutschen Welle

"Libyans should decide their own future" - DW interview

It is important that all parties to the conflict come together and discuss a peaceful solution for Libya. Germany's initiative for a conference in Berlin is the right approach. Most importantly, however, eventually it should be the Libyans themselves who decide on their future. That was my core message in the interview with Deutsche Well on the occasion of the meeting of Merkel and Putin in Moscow.

"It is of urgent importance that Germany uses all its diplomatic weight to find a peaceful solution. A conference in Berlin is a strong signal in this regard. Nevertheless, we have to wait and see how far talks will take us. Russia also has a key role to play.

"In view of the announcements of military operations by Turkey and Egypt and the large quantities of weapons being supplied to the region, all parties involved hope for de-escalation. So there is agreement on this. The question of who is to be in control in the future is an exciting one. But this is something that the Libyan people should decide."

– Hannah Neumann, MEP
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Latest Articles

Skip to content
Hannah Neumann zu Gast bei der Deutschen Welle

„Die Libyer sollten selber über ihre Zukunft entscheiden“ – DW-Interview

Es ist wichtig, dass alle Konfliktparteien zusammenkommen und eine friedliche Lösung für Libyen besprechen. Deutschlands Initiative für eine Konferenz in Berlin ist der richtige Ansatz. Am wichtigsten ist jedoch, dass am Ende die Libyer selber über ihre Zukunft entscheiden. Das war meine Kernbotschaft im Interview mit der Deutschen Welle zum Treffen von Merkel und Putin in Moskau.

„Es ist von dringender Wichtigkeit, dass Deutschland sein ganzes diplomatisches Gewicht einsetzt, um eine friedliche Lösung zu finden. Eine Konferenz in Berlin ist da ein starkes Zeichen. Trotzdem müssen wir abwarten, wie weit man dann mit Gesprächen kommt. Eine wichtige Schlüsselrolle spielt dabei auch Russland.“

„Im Hinblick auf die Ankündigungen militärischer Operationen durch die Türkei und Ägypten sowie die großen Mengen an Waffen, die in die Region geliefert werden, hoffen alle Beteiligten auf Deeskalation. Hier ist man sich also einig. Spannend wird es bei der Frage, wer in Zukunft die Kontrolle haben soll. Aber das ist etwas, was die Libysche Bevölkerung entscheiden sollte.“

– Hannah Neumann, MdEP
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Neueste Artikel