Skip to content
Women to the negotiating tables

Hannahs Monthly: A feminist foreign policy for the EU - and now!

When women have a place at the negotiating table, peace talks fail less often and peace agreements last longer. However, women not only play a decisive role in this area - but also in conflict prevention, peacekeeping and reconstruction.

What the EU therefore needs is a feminist foreign policy. June was very much under their sign for me: the Committee on Foreign Affairs adopted my draft opinion on the report "Gender equality in the EU's foreign and security policy" - and the study on this was also published.

What else happened? Among other things I have guest contributions for the World and the Frankfurter Rundschau on Libya and Syria - and with the Philippine editor-in-chief of the online portal "Rappler", Maria Ressa, on the press freedom in her country spoken.

The issue of press freedom will continue to occupy me in July. On Thursday, July 2, I will be talking to the Turkish journalist Nurcan Baysal about "Free Speech under Threat" - at 6pm on Instagram. If you feel like it, feel free to join in!

Enjoy reading!

Yours,

Hannahs Monthly

Lest hier den Newsletter

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Latest Articles

Skip to content
Frauen an die Verhandlungstische

Hannahs Monthly: Eine feministische Außenpolitik für die EU – und zwar jetzt!

Wenn Frauen einen Platz am Verhandlungstisch haben, scheitern Friedensgespräche seltener, und Friedensvereinbarungen halten länger. Frauen spielen aber nicht nur eine entscheidende Rolle in diesem Bereich – sondern auch bei der Konfliktprävention, der Friedenssicherung und dem Wiederaufbau.

Was die EU deshalb braucht, ist eine feministische Außenpolitik. Der Juni stand bei mir ganz in deren Zeichen: So nahm der Ausschuss für Auswärtige Angelegenheiten meinen Stellungnahmeentwurf zum Bericht „Gleichstellung der Geschlechter in der Außen- und Sicherheitspolitik der EU“ an – und die Studie hierzu wurde ebenfalls veröffentlicht. 

Was ist sonst noch passiert? Unter anderem habe ich Gastbeiträge für die Welt und die Frankfurter Rundschau zu Libyen und Syrien geschrieben – und mit der philippinischen Chefredakteurin des Online-Portals „Rappler“, Maria Ressa, über die Pressefreiheit in ihrem Land gesprochen.

Das Thema Pressefreiheit wird mich auch im Juli weiter beschäftigen. Am Donnerstag, 2. Juli, spreche ich mit der türkischen Journalistin Nurcan Baysal über „Free Speech under Threat“ – und zwar um 18 Uhr auf Instagram. Wenn ihr Lust habt, schaltet euch gerne dazu!

Viel Spaß beim Lesen!

Eure

Hannahs Monthly

Lest hier den Newsletter

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Neueste Artikel