Skip to content
Human Rights Logo

EU Action Plan on Human Rights and Democracy: "The plan leaves many important questions open

Press release

The European Commission and the High Representative of the Union for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy today adopted the priorities of an EU Action Plan for Human Rights and Democracy for the period 2020-2024. Commenting on the action plan are Margarete Bause, spokeswoman for human rights and humanitarian aid Bundestag group Bündnis 90/Die Grünen, and Hannah Neumann, spokeswoman for foreign policy of the Greens/EFA group in the European Parliament:
"In view of the increasing threat to human rights and democracy worldwide, it is good that the EU Commission is taking action and naming numerous existing deficits. For example, it is overdue to address the enormous human rights challenges related to flight and migration, the climate crisis, health, access to water and digitalization. There is also a continuing need for action on the rule of law, including within the EU.
However, the Action Plan leaves many important questions unanswered. On the issues of business and human rights, corporate due diligence, the export of weapons and surveillance technology or better protection mechanisms for human rights defenders, such as the issuing of special visas for this group of people, the Commission remains silent or lacks clear words. Moreover, too little attention is paid to the protection of international humanitarian law by the EU.
A mere listing of construction sites is not enough. The EU needs a clear framework for its projects in the field of human rights and democracy. The Federal Government, which has declared human rights to be one of the priorities of its forthcoming EU Council Presidency, has a duty here in the second half of the year: the action plan must be followed by binding targets and timetables for legislative action. In the case of issues such as corporate responsibility or the punishment of serious human rights crimes, there is no need for declarations of intent, but rather binding, strict rules".
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Latest Articles

Skip to content
Human Rights Logo

EU-Aktionsplan Menschenrechte und Demokratie: „Der Plan lässt zahlreiche wichtige Fragen offen“

Pressemitteilung

Die Europäische Kommission und der Hohe Vertreter der Union für Außen- und Sicherheitspolitik haben heute die Prioritäten heute eine den EU-Aktionsplan für Menschenrechte und Demokratie für den Zeitraum 2020-2024 angenommen. Zum Aktionsplan erklären Margarete Bause, Sprecherin für Menschenrechte und humanitäre Hilfe Bundestagsfraktion Bündnis 90 / Die Grünen, und Hannah Neumann, Sprecherin für Außenpolitik der Grünen/EFA-Fraktion im Europaparlament:

„Angesichts der zunehmenden Bedrohung von Menschenrechten und Demokratie weltweit ist es gut, dass die EU-Kommission aktiv wird und zahlreiche bestehende Defizite beim Namen nennt. So ist es überfällig, sich den enormen menschenrechtlichen Herausforderungen im Zusammenhang mit Flucht und Migration, der Klimakrise, Gesundheit, Zugang zu Wasser und der Digitalisierung zu stellen. Auch beim Thema Rechtsstaatlichkeit herrscht weiterhin Handlungsbedarf, auch innerhalb der EU.
Allerdings lässt der Aktionsplan zahlreiche wichtige Fragen offen. Zu den Themen Wirtschaft und Menschenrechte, unternehmerische Sorgfaltspflichten, zum Export von Waffen und Überwachungstechnologie oder besseren Schutzmechanismen für Menschenrechtsverteidiger*innen, wie zum Beispiel durch die Vergabe von Spezial-Visa für diese Personengruppe, schweigt die Kommission oder lässt klare Worte vermissen. Zudem wird zu wenig auf den Schutz des Humanitären Völkerrechts durch die EU eingegangen.

Mit einer reinen Auflistung von Baustellen ist es nicht getan. Die EU braucht einen klaren Rahmen für ihre Vorhaben im Bereich Menschenrechte und Demokratie. Die Bundesregierung, die die Menschenrechte zu einem der Schwerpunkte ihrer bevorstehenden EU-Ratspräsidentschaft erklärt hat, steht hier in der zweiten Jahreshälfte in der Pflicht: Dem Aktionsplan müssen verbindliche Ziel- und Zeitvorgaben für gesetzgeberisches Handeln folgen. Bei Themen wie Unternehmensverantwortung oder der Ahndung schwerer Menschenrechtsverbrechen braucht es keine Absichtserklärungen, sondern verbindliche, strenge Regeln.“

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Neueste Artikel