Skip to content

Visa policy for human rights defenders- written question

How is the Commission ensuring or planning to ensure that the Union’s support for human rights defenders is reflected in the legislative instruments relative to EU visa policy? How will these comply with the consistency requirement for the Union’s actions enshrined in the EU Treaties?

Written question by Hannah Neumann

Answer given by Ms Johansson on behalf of the European Commission

The common EU (short stay) Schengen visa policy applies to the nationals of 105 third countries(1) . The procedures and conditions for issuing visas for intended short stays (i.e. 90 days per 180 days period) on the territory of the Member States are set out in the Visa Code(2) . Generally, the Visa Code does not distinguish between categories of applicants on the basis of their profession, activities or travel purpose. The revised Visa Code that became applicable on 2 February 2020 contains new provisions on the mandatory issuing of multiple entry visa with a progressively longer validity to persons who have used previous short stay visas correctly. These general rules apply to all categories of visa applicants, including human right defenders. Persons who are issued a multiple entry visa with long validity would be significantly facilitated in their travels into the EU.

The Commission is not aware of systemic problems faced by human rights defenders fulfilling the necessary entry conditions in being granted short stay visas.

Persons who seek to travel to a Member State for stays beyond 90 days per 180 days period may apply for a long stay visa or a residence permit. Depending on the qualification and purpose of residence, these are covered by national or EU legislation on legal migration.

Subject: Visa policy for human rights defenders

Priority question for written answer P-000850/2020 to the Commission
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Latest Articles

Skip to content

EU-Visumpolitik für Menschenrechtsverteidiger*innen- Parlamentarische Anfrage

Wie stellt die Kommission sicher oder plant sie, sicherzustellen, dass sich die Unterstützung der Union für Menschenrechtsverteidiger in den Rechtsinstrumenten der EU zur Visumpolitik widerspiegelt? Wie werden diese dem in den EU-Verträgen verankerten Erfordernis der Kohärenz des Handelns der Union gerecht?

Parlamentarische Anfrage von Hannah Neumann

Antwort von Frau Johansson im Namen der Europäischen Kommission:

Die gemeinsame Schengen-Visumpolitik der EU (für Kurzaufenthalte) gilt für die Staatsangehörigen von 105 Drittstaaten.(1) Die Verfahren und Voraussetzungen für die Erteilung von Visa für geplante Kurzaufenthalte (d. h. höchstens 90 Tage je Zeitraum von 180 Tagen) im Hoheitsgebiet der Mitgliedstaaten sind im Visakodex(2) festgelegt. Generell wird im Visakodex nicht zwischen Kategorien von Antragstellern nach Beruf, Tätigkeiten oder Reisezweck unterschieden. Der überarbeitete Visakodex, der am 2. Februar 2020 in Kraft trat, enthält neue Bestimmungen über die obligatorische Erteilung eines Visums für die mehrfache Einreise mit einer schrittweise ansteigenden Gültigkeitsdauer für Personen, die frühere Kurzaufenthaltsvisa vorschriftsmäßig verwendet haben. Diese allgemeinen Vorschriften gelten für alle Kategorien von Visumantragstellern, einschließlich Menschenrechtsverteidigern. Personen, denen ein Visum für die mehrfache Einreise mit langer Gültigkeitsdauer erteilt wird, wird die Einreise in die EU erheblich erleichtert.

Der Kommission sind keine systemischen Probleme bekannt, mit denen Menschenrechtsverteidiger konfrontiert sind, die die erforderlichen Einreisevoraussetzungen erfüllen, um Kurzaufenthaltsvisa zu erhalten.

Personen, die sich für einen Aufenthalt von mehr als 90 Tagen je Zeitraum von 180 Tagen in einen Mitgliedstaat begeben wollen, können ein Visum für den längerfristigen Aufenthalt oder einen Aufenthaltstitel beantragen. Je nach Qualifikation und Aufenthaltszweck fallen diese unter die nationalen oder die EU-Rechtsvorschriften über legale Migration.

Betrifft: EU-Visumpolitik für Menschenrechtsverteidiger*innen

Anfrage mit Vorrang zur schriftlichen Beantwortung P-000850/2020 an die Kommission
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Neueste Artikel