For I spare no conflict

Bild9ALTBild9ALT
For peace, sometimes you have to go into confrontations - and I am willing to do that.
interview in kugebemaiinterview in kugebemai
How do people manage to live together in peace after a war? I have dealt with this question throughout my professional life.
Bild5_ALTBild5_ALT
It can work if people - against all odds - stand up for an alternative, non-violent way of dealing with conflicts, and inspire others to do the same. I learned this in 2004 as an intern with the German Development Service.
walking to the campwalking to the camp
It can work if they build alliances, even with players who are alien to them, e.g. with the military or with people with a different religion. This needs to happen borne by the common goal of creating peace, and united in the discussion about the way to achieve it. This was one of the results of my thesis on so-called "peace zones" in Mindanao.
orientationorientation
It can work if people solve jointly those problems of everyday life which they are unable to solve on their own, and if they do so free from ideology. Examples are building a school, distributing wells or attracting business to a region. I have often observed this during my field research in the Philippines and Liberia.
Bild1_ALTBild1_ALT
It can work if they jointly build structures in which everyone can participate - this eliminates one of the root causes of radicalisation. And it can work when people who do not yet dare to participate in these structures are encouraged to do so. I have had the privilege of accompanying these types of processes as a consultant for various international organizations.
Bild7Bild7
These processes apply elsewhere in the same way as they do on our own doorstep. This became clear to me in 2016, when the AfD in Lichtenberg suddenly won 20% of the votes. I decided to go into politics myself: first as district chairman, then as a direct candidate for the Bundestag, and finally as a member of the European Parliament.
Bild8Bild8
Europe is evidence that peace can be learned. Our history gives hope to many people worldwide. And I am not prepared to accept that autocrats and reactionaries will destroy it. For peace, I spare no conflict with them - on my doorstep, all over Europe and in the world.
Bild1OD9Bild1OD9
But our policies in Europe also have an influence on the crises of this world. Examples are when we export weapons, when the climate crisis hits the poorest, when women are once again not sitting at the negotiating table and when dictators extort money from us because of bad deals concerning refugees. Yes, for peace we must seek conflict in such situations and show a firm stance.
66645932_702900003472029_4238455756996739072_n-266645932_702900003472029_4238455756996739072_n-2
That is what I am fighting for in the European Parliament

Für den in den Konflikt

Bild9ALTBild9ALT
Für den Frieden muss man manchmal in den Konflikt gehen – und ich bin bereit, das zu tun.
interview in kugebemaiinterview in kugebemai
Wie schaffen es Menschen nach einem Krieg, wieder in Frieden zusammen zu leben? Diese Frage beschäftigt mich in meinem ganzen beruflichen Leben.
Bild5_ALTBild5_ALT
Indem Menschen sich, gegen alle Widerstände, für einen alternative, einen gewaltfreien Umgang mit Konflikten stark machen. Und andere dafür begeistern. Das habe ich 2004 gelernt, als Praktikantin beim deutschen Entwicklungsdienst.
walking to the campwalking to the camp
Indem sie Bündnisse knüpfen, auch mit Akteuren, die ihnen zunächst fremd sind. Mit Militärs oder mit Menschen anderen Glaubens. Getragen von dem gemeinsamen Ziel Frieden zu schaffen, vereint in einer langen Diskussion über den Weg dorthin. Das war eines der Ergebnisse meiner Diplomarbeit zu den Friedenszonen in Mindanao.
orientationorientation
Indem sie gemeinsam und abseits jeglicher Ideologien die Probleme des Alltags lösen, an denen sie alleine scheitern. Der Bau einer Schule, die Verteilung von Brunnen, das Anwerben von Unternehmen. Das hab ich oft beobachtet bei meiner Feldforschung auf den Philippinen und in Liberia
Bild1_ALTBild1_ALT
Indem wir gemeinsam Strukturen aufbauen, in denen alle mit gestalten können und es keine Notwendigkeit mehr gibt, sich zu radikalisieren. Und in dem wir diejenigen stärken, die sich das noch nicht zutrauen. Solche Prozesse durfte ich als Gutachterin für verschiedene internationale Organisationen begleiten.
Bild7Bild7
Das gilt anderswo, genauso wie vor unserer Haustür. Das habe ich 2016 begriffen, als die AfD in Lichtenberg plötzlich 20% der Wählerstimmen gewann. Und ich mich entschieden habe, selbst aktiv in die Politik zu gehen. Erst als Kreisvorsitzende, dann als Direktkandidatin für den Bundestag und zuletzt als Kandidatin für das Europäische Parlament.
Bild8Bild8
Europa ist der Beweis, dass man Frieden lernen kann. Unsere Geschichte gibt vielen Menschen Hoffnung, weltweit. Ich bin nicht bereit zu akzeptieren, dass Autokraten und Ewiggestrige das kaputt machen. Für den Frieden gehe ich mit denen gerne in den Konflikt. Vor meiner Haustür, in ganz Europa und weltweit.
Bild1OD9Bild1OD9
Aber unsere Politik in Europa hat auch Einfluss auf die Krisen dieser Welt. Wenn wir Waffen exportieren, wenn die Klimakrise die Ärmsten trifft, wenn Frauen wieder nicht am Verhandlungstisch sitzen und wenn Diktatoren uns wegen schlechter Flüchtlingsdeals erpressen. Ja, für den Frieden müssen wir in solchen Situationen den Konflikt suchen und klare Kante zeigen.
66645932_702900003472029_4238455756996739072_n-266645932_702900003472029_4238455756996739072_n-2
Dafür streite ich heute im Europäischen Parlament