Skip to content

A “Geopolitical Commission” needs self-initiative – SZ Interview

"If the EU wants to play a role in the Middle East, it must not be perceived as an appendage to the USA. It must stand with both feet on the ground of international law and condemn equally all those who violate this international law," I told the Süddeutsche Zeitung on Friday.

Earlier, EU Foreign Affairs Commissioner Borrell and Commission President von der Leyen had called for de-escalation. Criticism of the US was very slight, and warnings were issued mainly unilaterally to Iran. Overall, the EU appeared neither coordinated nor independent here - a false start from the Leyen's "geopolitical commission".

Such unilateral statements damage the reputation of the EU, which is currently still being called upon to act as a mediator. This was expressed by several surrounding countries of Iran. "We are perceived as a neutral and fair political negotiator in the region and should offer every possible platform," I told SZ. "This could be a conference organised by the EU itself, or we could support an actor from the region in such a process".

The volume of EU trade with the region is five times greater than that with the US. Both the relevance of these countries and our influence should therefore not be underestimated.

Click here for the complete interview

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Latest Articles

Skip to content

Geopolitische Kommission – das geht nur mir Eigenständigkeit! – SZ Interview

„Wenn die EU im Nahen Osten eine Rolle spielen möchte, dann darf sie nicht als Anhängsel der USA wahrgenommen werden. Sie muss sich mit beiden Füßen auf den Boden des Völkerrechts stellen und alle, die gegen dieses Völkerrecht verstoßen, gleichermaßen verurteilen“, sagte ich der Süddeutschen Zeitung am Freitag.

Zuvor hatten EU-Außenbeauftragter Borrell und Kommissionspräsidentin von der Leyen zur Deeskalation aufgerufen. Die Kritik an der USA fiel dabei sehr gering aus, Mahnungen wurden vor allem einseitig an den Iran ausgesprochen. Insgesamt wirkte die EU hier weder koordiniert, noch eigenständig – ein Fehlstart von der Leyens „geopolitischer Kommission“.

Derart einseitige Aussagen beschädigen den Ruf der EU, die zurzeit noch als Vermittler gefordert wird. Das äußerten verschiedene umliegende Länder des Irans. „Wir werden als neutraler und fairer politischer Verhandler in der Region wahrgenommen und sollten jede mögliche Plattform bieten“, erklärte ich der SZ weiter. „Das könnte eine Konferenz sein, die die EU selbst organisiert, oder wir unterstützen einen Akteur aus der Region bei so einem Prozess.“

Das Handelsvolumen der EU mit der Region ist fünf Mal größer als jenes mit den USA. Sowohl die Relevanz dieser Länder als auch unsere Einflussmöglichkeiten sind also nicht zu unterschätzen.

Hier geht’s zum kompletten Interview.

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Neueste Artikel