Skip to content

Planned container terminal in Świnoujście: a disaster for nature and tourism

In September, I was on tour in my constituency in Mecklenburg-West Pomerania. During my visit to the north-east, I also went to Świnoujście in Poland. The government has plans for building a container terminal on the Baltic coast, in the European nature reserve Natura-2000.
The planned construction project not only violates current EU legislation and Natura-2000 requirements – it will also have a devastating impact on nature in the Usedom region.

Citizens' initiatives on the Polish and German side: Cross-border activism against the construction of the terminal

The consequences will affect both countries equally. On the one hand, the construction of the port will lead to the massive destruction of the environment, and on the other, to increasing traffic at sea and on land. The resulting emissions, in turn, will not only affect the local population, but also the tourism industry which is dependent on an intact ecosystem.
The Polish citizens' initiative "Right Bank" has therefore already addressed a petition (Nr. 225/2018, German) to the European Parliament in 2018. In the meantime, the German citizens' initiative "Biotope West Pomerania" has introduced another petition (Nr. 1018/2020, German).
In cooperation with many stakeholders from politics and civil society, I will campaign for the preservation of the unique natural landscape that is the Pomeranian Bay and for compliance with the rules and laws we have all agreed upon in the context of European cooperation.

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Latest Articles

Skip to content

Geplantes Container-Terminal in Świnoujście: ein Desaster für Natur und Tourismus

Im September war ich erneut auf Tour in meinem Wahlkreis in Mecklenburg-Vorpommern. In Zusammenhang mit diesem Besuch im Nordosten führte mich mein Weg auch zu unserem europäischen Nachbarn Polen, nach Świnoujście. Die polnische Regierung plant dort an der Ostseeküste, im europäischen Schutzgebiet Natura-2000, den Bau eines Container-Terminals.
Das geplante Bauvorhaben verstößt nicht nur gegen geltende EU-Gesetzgebung und die Vorgaben von Natura-2000 – es wird auch drastische Auswirkungen auf die Natur in der Region Usedom haben.

Bürgerinitiativen auf polnischer und deutscher Seite: Im Einsatz gegen den Bau des Terminals

Die Folgen für die Umwelt betreffen beide Länder gleichermaßen. So führt der Bau des Hafens einerseits zur massiven Vernichtung von Naturraum und andererseits zu steigenden Verkehrszahlen auf See und an Land. Die daraus resultierenden Emissionsbelastungen wiederum haben nicht nur Auswirkungen auf die lokale Bevölkerung, sondern auch auf den Hauptwirtschaftszweig Tourismus, der sich auf eine intakte Natur gegründet.
Die polnische Bürgerinitiative „Rechtes Ufer“ hatte sich deshalb bereits 2018 mit einer Petition (Nr. 225/2018) an das Europäische Parlament gewandt. Mittlerweile gibt es eine weitere Petition der deutschen Bürgerinitiative „Lebensraum Vorpommern“ (Nr. 1018/2020).
Ich werde mich in Zusammenarbeit mit vielen Akteuren aus Politik und Zivilgesellschaft für den Erhalt der einmaligen Naturlandschaft Pommersche Bucht einsetzten und für die Einhaltung der Vorschriften und Gesetze kämpfen, auf die wir uns alle im Rahmen der europäischen Zusammenarbeit verständigt haben.

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Neueste Artikel