Skip to content

Hate speech against LGBTI persons by Polish governmental officials- written question

Written question by Hannah Neumann, Marc Angel, Terry Reintke, and many more: 

The Polish Commissioner for Children’s Rights, Mikołaj Pawlak, recently made some extremely worrying statements concerning sexuality education for young people. On 1 September 2020, he expressed, in his official capacity as Government Ombudsperson, that non-governmental organisations focused on sexuality education have ‘targeted unstable, abandoned children, and [given] them pharmacological substances to change their sex’. These declarations were made during an interview for TVN24 news channel.

Similarly, the appointment of Przemysław Czarnek as Minister of Education raises further questions given the many comments he has made concerning LGBTI persons, such as: ‘These people are not equal to normal people…Let’s protect the family from this kind of corruption, depravity and absolutely immoral behaviour’.

1. What is the Commission’s position regarding the conduct and comments of the Polish Commissioner for Children’s Rights and the recently appointed Minister of Education?

2. Does it agree that such statements actively contradict the values that governmental spokespersons (either advocating for children’s rights, including their right to health and to be free from discrimination, or in charge of education) should promote?

3. What is its position on the consistency of these statements with Council Framework Decision 2008/913/JHA, and the Audiovisual Media Services Directive as regards the broadcast of such language on television?

Answer of the European Commission:

Pending.

 

Subject: Hate speech against LGBTI persons by Polish governmental officials

Question for written answer E-005592/2020 to the Commission
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Latest Articles

Skip to content

Hetze gegen LGBTI-Personen durch polnische Staatsbeamte- Parlamentarische Anfrage

Parlamentarische Anfrage von Hannah Neumann, Marc Angel, Terry Reintke, uvm.: 

Der polnische Beauftragte für Kinderrechte, Mikolaj Pawlak, hat jüngst äußerst besorgniserregende Aussagen zur Sexualerziehung von jungen Menschen gemacht. Am 1. September 2020 erklärte er in seiner amtlichen Funktion als staatlicher Ombudsmann, dass sich Nichtregierungsorganisationen, die sich hauptsächlich mit Sexualerziehung befassen, labile, vernachlässigte Kinder zum Ziel genommen und ihnen zum Zweck der Geschlechtsumwandlung pharmakologische Wirkstoffe verabreicht hätten. Diese Aussagen wurden während eines Interviews für den Nachrichtensender TVN24 aufgezeichnet.

Ebenso wirft die Ernennung von Przemysław Czarnek zum Bildungsminister angesichts seiner zahlreichen Kommentare zu LGBTI-Personen weitere Fragen auf. So meinte er, dass LGBTI-Personen nicht mit normalen Menschen gleichzustellen seien und Familien vor dieser Art von Verdorbenheit, Lasterhaftigkeit und gänzlich immoralischem Verhalten geschützt werden müssten.

1. Was ist der Standpunkt der Kommission bezüglich des Verhaltens und der Aussagen des polnischen Beauftragten für Kinderrechte und des vor kurzem ernannten Bildungsministers?

2. Ist die Kommission der Meinung, dass solche Aussagen den Werten widersprechen, die ein Regierungsvertreter (der für die Förderung der Rechte von Kindern, u. a. ihr Recht auf Gesundheit und Diskriminierungsfreiheit, oder für Bildung zuständig ist) fördern sollte?

3. Ist die Kommission im Hinblick auf die Ausstrahlung einer derartigen Sprache im Fernsehen der Meinung, dass diese Aussagen mit dem Rahmenbeschluss 2008/913/JI des Rates und mit der Richtlinie über audiovisuelle Mediendienste vereinbar sind?

Antwort der Europäischen Kommission:

Ausstehend.

 

Betrifft: Hetze gegen LGBTI-Personen durch polnische Staatsbeamte

Anfrage zur schriftlichen Beantwortung E-005592/2020 an die Kommission
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Neueste Artikel