Skip to content

My report on feminist foreign policy is making waves in Brussels

Since the end of last year my office and I have been working on a report on gender equality in European foreign and security policy. After a long process with a lot of research, discussions with experts and NGOs and political coordination processes, there is now a draft that has yet to be negotiated and approved in parliament. However, my demands are already met with broad interest outside the European Parliament.

This week the EU Task Force on "Women, Peace and Security" met online (due to corona), for me to present the report. Participants were, among others, members of the European External Action Service (EEAS), the Political and Security Committee (PSC) and the main advisor for gender issues and UN Resolution 1325 on "Women, Peace and Security", Mara Marinaki. They all showed great interest in the report, which comes at a special time: after all, the EU Commission is working on a new "Gender Action Plan" (GAP III) for foreign policy.

What are the next steps in my report on feminist foreign policy?

So while the negotiations in the European Parliament are getting heated, my report is making waves in the Commission and the EEAS. Our aim as European Greens is therefore to anchor our demands from the report in CAP III:

  1. The EEAS must have the same number of women as men at all decision-making levels. To achieve this, we need quotas and better promotion opportunities for women.
  2. Compulsory gender training is needed for middle and senior management of the EEAS and for persons entrusted with the management of EU civil and military missions.
  3. The CAP III must be adopted before the end of this year, with clear, verifiable objectives on gender equality and the corresponding funding.

I will negotiate on these and other points with the rapporteurs from other political groups in the coming weeks. After the negotiations, the report will be discussed and voted on in the Committee on Foreign Affairs and - finally, in the second half of the year - in plenary!

Timeline shows the negotiations and the votes for the report
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Latest Articles

Skip to content

Mein Bericht zur Feministischen Außenpolitik schlägt Wellen in Brüssel

Seit Ende letzten Jahres arbeiten mein Büro und ich an einem Bericht zur Geschlechtergleichheit in der europäischen Außen- und Sicherheitspolitik. Nach einem langen Prozess mit viel Recherchearbeit, Gesprächen mit Expert*innen und NGOs und politischen Abstimmungsprozessen gibt es nun einen Entwurf, der im Parlament noch verhandelt und abgestimmt werden muss. Doch schon jetzt stoßen meine Forderungen auch außerhalb des Europaparlaments auf breites Interesse.

In dieser Woche versammelte sich die EU Task-Force zu „Frauen, Frieden und Sicherheit“ (coronagerecht natürlich online), damit ich den Bericht vorstellen konnte. Teilnehmer*innen waren u.a. Mitglieder des Europäischen Auswärtigenes Dienstes (EAD), des Politischen und Sicherheitspolitischen Komitees (PSK) und die Hauptberaterin für Genderfragen und die UN-Resolution 1325 zu „Frauen, Frieden und Sicherheit“, Mara Marinaki. Sie alle zeigten großes Interesse an dem Bericht, der zu einem besonderen Zeitpunkt kommt: Denn zeitgleich arbeitet die EU-Kommission an einem neuen „Gender Action Plan“ (GAP III) für die Außenpolitik.

Wie geht es mit meinem Bericht zur Feministischen Außenpolitik weiter?

Während im Europaparlament die heiße Phase der Verhandlungen beginnt, schlägt mein Bericht also Wellen in der Kommission und im EAD. Unser Ziel als Europäische Grüne ist es deshalb, die Forderungen des Berichts im GAP III zu verankern:

  1. Im EAD müssen genau so viele Frauen wie Männer auf allen Entscheidungsebenen vertreten sein. Dafür brauchen wir Quoten und bessere Aufstiegschancen für Frauen.
  2. Es braucht verpflichtende Gender-Trainings für das mittlere und obere Management des EAD und für Personen, die mit der Leitung der zivilen und militärischen Missionen der EU betraut sind.
  3. Der GAP III muss noch in diesem Jahr beschlossen werden, und zwar mit klaren, überprüfbaren Zielen zur Geschlechtergleichheit und der entsprechenden Finanzierung.

Über diese und weitere Punkte werde ich in den kommenden Wochen mit den Berichterstatter*innen anderer Fraktionen verhandeln. Nach den Verhandlungen wird der Bericht im Ausschuss für außwärtige Angelegenheiten abgestimmt – und schließlich in der zweiten Jahreshälfte im Plenum!

Auf einer Zeitleiste sind nacheinander Verhandlugen, und Abstimmungen für den Bericht aufgelistet
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Neueste Artikel