Skip to content

Der blinde Fleck der EU-Visapolitik

Throughout the world, courageous people stand up for human rights and often risk their freedom, even their life. Human rights defenders should therefore be protected and should find easier refuge in the EU. In many cases, temporary visas for the EU can save lives and protect persecuted human rights defenders from authoritarian governments or paramilitary groups. However, because the procedures in EU embassies are different and bureaucratic, many activists find it difficult to get a visa.

According to Amnesty International a big problem is the obvious discrepancy between political and consular staff within the embassy. For LGBTQIA+ activists, it is often impossible to have their same-sex partners recognized as family members so that they can enter the country as well.

For most human rights defenders, filing an asylum application is not an alternative. This would simply pass their reality of life.

In 2019 alone, more than 300 human rights defenders were killed worldwide, and the number of environmental activists murdered has almost doubled in the last fifteen years. In such a climate of violence, the EU needs a reliable visa policy that guarantees protection without red tape.

Der Fall eines türkischen Menschenrechtsverteidigers

One example of the problems of EU visa policy comes from Frontline Defenders: The 25-year-old Turkish LGBTQI activist Özgür Gür was not given an entry permit to the Schengen zone although he had been invited to the European Parliament. The Belgian authorities did not grant the application, probably because the Turkish government had charged the activist on grounds of terrorism because of his involvement in a LGBT-protest. Özgür is on trial for protesting LGBTI rights - EU must support human rights defenders like him!

I have therefore put a parliamentary question to the Commission:

Friday, 12 Feburary, 2020
Parliamentary question by Hannah Neumann
How does the Commission ensure that human rights defenders are protected by EU visa policy? How does the EU implement its human rights protection policy?
Friday, 12 Feburary, 2020
Thursday, 11 June 2020
Answer from EU Commissioner Johansson
In general, the Visa Code does not distinguish between categories of applicants on the basis of their profession, activity or purpose of travel. [...] The Commission is not aware of any systemic problems faced by human rights defenders who fulfil the necessary entry conditions when issuing short-stay visas.
Thursday, 11 June 2020

The Commission's reply is disappointing

The answer shows what is wrong. For one thing, there are no separate procedures for human rights defenders* to enter the country, since the same visa rules apply to them as to everyone else. Secondly, the European Commission does not acknowledge the problem at all: For them there is no need for improvement. This is more than disappointing.

Therefore, I demand:

1. the Visa Code Manual needs to be amended so that the specific protection of human rights defenders is taken into account in the visa decision

2. there should be a reference to visa facilitation in the EU Guidelines on Human Rights Defenders*.

3) External agencies that carry out the visa process for Member States must raise awareness among their staff and provide training on the needs and situations of human rights defenders.

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Latest Articles

Skip to content

Der blinde Fleck der EU-Visapolitik

Weltweit setzen sich mutige Menschen für Menschenrechte ein und riskieren dabei oftmals ihre Freiheit, sogar ihr Leben. Menschenrechtsverteidiger*innen sollten deshalb geschützt werden und einfacher in der EU Zuflucht finden können. In vielen Fällen können temporäre Visa für die EU Leben retten und verfolgte Menschenrechtsverteidiger*innen vor autoritären Regierungen oder paramilitärischen Gruppen schützen. Doch weil die Verfahren in den Botschaften der EU unterschiedlich sind und zudem sehr bürokratisch, ist es für viele Aktivist*innen schwer, Visa zu bekommen.

Nach Angaben von Amnesty International ist ein großes Problem die offensichtliche Diskrepanz zwischen dem politischen und konsularischen Personal innerhalb der jeweiligen Botschaft. Für LGBTQIA+-Aktivist*innen ist es zudem oft unmöglich, ihre gleichgeschlechtlichen Lebenspartner*innen als Familienmitglieder anerkennen zu lassen, damit sie ebenfalls einreisen können.

Einen Asylantrag zu stellen, ist für die meisten Menschrechtsverteidiger*innen keine Alternative. Dies ginge schlicht an ihrer Lebensrealität vorbei

Allein im Jahr 2019 wurden weltweit mehr als 300 Menschenrechtsverteidiger*innen getötet, und die Zahl der ermordeten Umweltaktivist*innen hat sich in den letzten fünfzehn Jahren fast verdoppelt. In einem solchen Klima der Gewalt braucht es von der EU eine zuverlässige Visa-Politik, die unbürokratisch Schutz gewährleistet.

Der Fall eines türkischen Menschenrechtsverteidigers

Ein Beispiel für die Probleme der EU-Visapolitik kommt von Frontline Defenders: Dem 25-jährigen türkischen LGBTQI-Aktivisten Özgür Gür wurde keine Einreiseerlaubnis erteilt, obwohl er ins Europäische Parlament eingeladen worden war. Die belgischen Behörden bewilligten den Antrag nicht, wahrscheinlich weil die türkische Regierung den Aktivisten aufgrund seiner Teilnahme an Protesten als Terroristen deklariert hatten. Özgür steht wegen eines Protests für LGBTI-Rechte vor Gericht - Die EU muss Menschenrechtsverteidiger*innen wie ihn unterstützen!

Deshalb habe ich der Kommission einen Parlamentarischen Frage gestellt:

Freitag, 12. Februar 2020
Parlamentarische Frage von Hannah Neumann
Wie stellt die Kommission sicher, dass Menschenrechtsverteidiger*innen durch die EU-Visapolitik geschützt werden? Wie kommt die EU ihrem Schutz für Menschenrechte nach?
Freitag, 12. Februar 2020
Donnerstag, 11. Juni 2020
Antwort der EU-Kommissarin Johansson
Im Allgemeinen unterscheidet der Visakodex nicht zwischen Kategorien von Antragstellern auf der Grundlage ihres Berufs, ihrer Tätigkeit oder ihres Reisezwecks. [...] Der Kommission sind keine systembedingten Probleme bekannt, denen sich Menschenrechtsverteidiger gegenübersehen, die bei der Erteilung von Kurzaufenthaltsvisa die erforderlichen Einreisebedingungen erfüllen.
Donnerstag, 11. Juni 2020

Die Antwort der Kommission ist enttäuschend

Die Antwort zeigt, was im Argen liegt. Zum einen gibt es keine gesonderten Verfahren für Menschenrechtsverteidiger*innen, um einreisen zu können, da für sie die gleichen Visaregeln gelten wie für allen anderen. Zum anderen erkennt die Europäische Kommission das Problem überhaupt nicht an: Für sie besteht kein Verbesserungsbedarf. Das ist mehr als enttäuschend.

Deshalb fordere ich:

1. Das Handbuch für den Visakodex muss geändert werden, damit der besondere Schutz von Menschenrechtsverteidiger*innen bei der Visumsentscheidung beachtet wird.

2. In den EU-Richtlinien für Menschenrechtsverteidiger*innen sollte ein Verweis auf Visaerleichterungen stehen.

3. Externe Agenturen, die den Visumsprozess für Mitgliedsstaaten durchführen, müssen ihre Mitarbeiter*innen sensibilisieren und in Schulungen auf die Nöte und Situationen von Menschenrechtsverteidiger*innen hinweisen.

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Neueste Artikel