Skip to content

Protests in Egypt: What the EU can do for the safety of protesters

On Friday protests against the al-Sisi regime are expected again in Egypt. More than 1000 people have been arrested since last week's protests. It was also reported that social media and messaging platforms were blocked. The current wave of arrests in Egypt shows once again how the government under President al-Sisi is proceeding with systematic severity against legitimate protests by the population. The EU should prevent the use of arms from its member states in this process.

"If people's rights are disregarded in Egypt, we cannot remain silent here. Especially not if we maintain close economic and security policy relations. No goods that could be used for repression may be supplied to Egypt from the EU."

Human rights defenders* are regularly subjected to harassment and repression, are banned from leaving the country and threatened. The EU and its member states must therefore also strongly condemn the current repression of the protests in Egypt. Furthermore, words must be followed by deeds, i.e:

  • No goods from the EU that could be used for repression must be delivered to Egypt.
  • EU relations with Egypt should be thoroughly reviewed, including EU aid programmes
  • the EU must take advantage of the forthcoming UN Human Rights Council review of Egypt's human rights record (Universal Periodic Review) to call for significant improvements in the human rights situation.
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Latest Articles

Skip to content

Proteste in Ägypten: Was die EU für die Sicherheit der Demonstrant*innen tun kann

Zum Freitag werden in Ägypten erneut Proteste gegen das al-Sisi Regime erwartet. Seit den Protesten der vergangenen Woche wurden mehr als 1000 Menschen verhaftet. Außerdem wurde berichtet, dass Soziale Medien und Messaging Plattformen blockiert wurden. Die aktuelle Verhaftungswelle in Ägypten zeigt einmal mehr, wie die Regierung unter Präsident al-Sisi mit systematischer Härte gegen legitimen Protest der Bevölkerung vorgeht. Die EU sollte verhindern, dass dabei Rüstungsgüter aus ihren Mitgliedsstaaten verwendet werden.

„Wenn in Ägypten die Rechte von Menschen missachtet werden, dürfen wir hier nicht schweigen. Vor allem dann nicht, wenn wir enge wirtschaftliche und sicherheitspolitische Beziehungen pflegen. Aus der EU dürfen keine Güter, die zur Repression eingesetzt werden können, an Ägypten geliefert werden.“

Menschenrechtsverteidiger*innen sind regelmäßig Schikanen und Repressionen ausgesetzt, werden mit Ausreiseverbot belegt und bedroht. Die EU und ihre Mitgliedsstaaten müssen daher auch die aktuelle Repression der Proteste in Ägypten entschieden verurteilen. Außerdem müssen Worten auch Taten folgen, d.h.:

  • aus der EU dürfen keine Güter, die zur Repression eingesetzt werden können, an Ägypten geliefert werden.
  • die EU-Beziehungen zu Ägypten gehören grundlegend überprüft, einschließlich der EU-Hilfsprogramme
  • die EU muss die bevorstehende Überprüfung der Menschenrechtsbilanz Ägyptens (Universial Periodic Review) durch den UN-Menschenrechtsrats nutzen deutliche Verbesserungen der Menschenrechtslage einzufordern
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Neueste Artikel