Skip to content

The EU needs common rules and more transparency on arms exports: My interview with euractiv

Across the Bank, all political parties are calling for more transparency and coherence in EU arms exports. But as soon as concrete activities and measures are called for, the political actors often do not pull together. As rapporteur for a European Parliament report on arms exports, I have üabout this discrepancy spoken to euractiv.

In the EU, weapons have long since ceased to be produced within a single country. Countries such as France and Germany, for example, jointly produce weapons that are used worldwide. When it comes to exporting these European weapon systems, the member states have agreed on a common position - but they interpret the rules very differently. This leads to an absurd reality:

The reality of EU arms exports

"The decision whether to export a product often lies with the country where, metaphorically speaking, the 'last bolt is tightened'. This can be an incentive to move final assembly to the country with the least restrictive export practices.

That is why I have made it clear to euractiv that with the increasing Europeanization of arms production we also need more common rules for European arms exports. Parliament's report is an important first step in this direction.

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Latest Articles

Skip to content

Die EU braucht gemeinsame Regeln und mehr Transparenz beim Thema Waffenexporte: Mein Interview mit euractiv

Durch die Bank hinweg fordern alle politischen Parteien mehr Transparenz und Kohärenz bei EU-Waffenexporten. Aber sobald es um konkrete Aktivitäten und Maßnahmen geht, ziehen die politischen Akteur*innen oft nicht am gleichen Strang. Als Berichterstatterin für einen Bericht des Europäischen Parlaments zum Thema Waffenexporte habe ich über diese Diskrepanz mit euractiv gesprochen.

In der EU werden Waffen seit langem schon nicht mehr nur innerhalb eines Landes hergestellt. Länder wie zum Beispiel Frankreich und Deutschland produzieren gemeinsam Waffen, die weltweit zum Einsatz kommen. Wenn es um den Export dieser europäischen Waffensysteme geht, haben sich die Mitgliedsstaaten zwar auf einen gemeinsamen Standpunkt geeinigt – aber sie legen die Regeln  sehr unterschiedlich aus. Dies führt zu einer absurden Realität:

Die Realität der EU-Waffenexporte

"Die Entscheidung, ob ein Produkt exportiert wird, liegt häufig bei dem Land, in dem, bildlich gesprochen, die 'letzte Schraube festgezogen' wird. Das kann ein Anreiz dafür sein, die Endmontage in das Land mit der am wenigsten restriktiven Exportpraxis zu verlagern."

Deshalb habe ich euractiv gegenüber klargestellt, dass wir mit zunehmender Europäisierung der Rüstungsproduktion auch mehr gemeinsame Regeln für europäische Waffenexporte brauchen. Der Bericht des Parlaments ist dabei ein erster wichtiger erster Schritt.

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Neueste Artikel