Skip to content

#SHEcurity: Peace needs women. More and fast.

Last Thursday our campaign #SHEcurity was launched. The aim: Together with WIIS, the Munich Security Conference & Southern Voice, the Allbright FoundationGerman magazine CFFP and other organisations, we want to raise awareness about the many women who have done great things in the field of peace and security- at last the end of October marks the 20th anniversary of the UN resolution 1325 on"Women, Peace and Security". We also want to take stock: What about gender equality in foreign and security policy? How many years will it take before we achieve parity in various areas of the sector?

#SHEcurity: who inspired you?

The first day of the campaign was already very successful: Personalities such as Canadian Prime Minister Justin Trudeau, Danish Defence Minister Ank Bijleveld and Canadian Defence Minister Harjit Sajjan, activist and Nobel Peace Prize winner Nadia Murad and many others tweeted and posted about women in the sector who have inspired them personally. Given that many politicians, organisations and others at EU level took part, #SHEcurity even trended on Belgian Twitter.

The index: where do we stand, and how long will it actually take?

To be able to effectively advocate for more women in foreign and security policy, we need to know where we stand today. This is why the campaign developed the #SHEcurity Index. The first edition focuses on data from the EU, its member states and the G20 in six different categories: Politics, diplomacy, military, police, civilian and military missions and the economy.

 

Politics: Women are increasingly represented in national parliaments, but it will take almost 100 years before parity is reached in parliamentary foreign and defence committees.

Diplomacy: Although women represent 43% of the diplomatic corps, only about 25% of EU and G20 ambassadors are women.

Military: Currently, women make up about 11% of armes forces and this number is rising, albeit very slowly: it will take about 325 (EU) and 465 (NATO) years to achieve parity, based on progress made between 2009 and 2018.

Police: Police forces (of the countries represented in the index) have a proportion of women of 25%. If progress continues at the same speed as between 2009 and 2017, parity will only be achieved in 58 years.

Civil and military missions: While we will only need about 5 years to reach parity in the leadership positions of UN peacekeeping missions, the share of women in the military personnel of these missions is less than 5%. The situation is even worse for EU missions: no woman has ever been commander and/or deputy commander of a military CSDP mission.

Business: Women make up only 6% of board members of arms manufacturers in Germany, compared to 23% in the USA. This figure is much lower than the number of board members of companies in other economic sectors.

So there is still a lot to be done!

The launch of the report was taken up by different media, for example Politico, Spiegel, euractiv, RND, La Vanguardia or evangelisch.de, as well as by the European Commission:

Without women, peace is difficult to achieve. This is one reason why we need all data (without gaps) on how many women are working in Peace and Security to become available. And - wherever possible - we need quotas. But it is also clear that a higher share of women alone is not enough; structural changes are needed. One day after the launch of the #SHEcurity campaign, my and MEP Ernest Urtasun's report on gender equality in EU foreign policy was adopted by the Parliament. An important first step!

Check out what it is all about in this video:

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Latest Articles

Skip to content

#SHEcurity: Peace needs women. More and fast.

Letzten Donnerstag ist unsere Kampagne #SHEcurity gestartet. Das Ziel: Gemeinsam mit WIIS, der Münchner Sicherheitskonferenz und Southern Voice, der Allbright-Stiftung, dem CFFP und anderen Organisationen wollen wir den Fokus auf all diejenigen Frauen richten, die im Bereich Frieden und Sicherheit Großes geleistet haben − schließlich ist Ende Oktober der 20. Jahrestag der UN-Resolution 1325 zu Frauen, Frieden und Sicherheit”. Außerdem wollen wir Bilanz ziehen: Wie steht es um die Geschlechtergleichheit in der Außen- und Sicherheitspolitik? Wie viele Jahre dauert es noch, bis wir Parität in verschiedenen Bereichen des Sektors erreicht haben?

#SHEcurity: wer hat dich inspiriert?

Bereits der erste Tag der Kampagne war sehr erfolgreich. Persönlichkeiten wie der kanadische Premierminister Justin Trudeau, die dänische Verteidigungsministerin Ank Bijleveld und der kanadische Verteidigungsminister Harjit Sajjan, die Aktivistin und Friedensnobelpreisträgerin Nadia Murad und viele andere haben über Frauen aus dem Sektor getwittert und gepostet, die sie persönlich inspirieren. Da viele Politiker und Politikerinnen, Organisationen und andere auf EU-Ebene teilgenommen haben, trendete #SHEcurity sogar im belgischen Twitter.

Der Index: wo stehen wir, und wie lange dauert das eigentlich noch?

Um effektiv für mehr Frauen in Außen- und Sicherheitspolitik eintreten zu können, müssen wir wissen, wo wir heute stehen. Deshalb wurde im Rahmen der Kampagne der #SHEcurity Index entwickelt. Die erste Ausgabe konzentriert sich auf Daten der EU, ihrer Mitgliedstaaten und der G20 in sechs verschiedenen Kategorien: Politik, Diplomatie, Militär, Polizei, zivile und militärische Missionen sowie Wirtschaft.

 

Politik: Frauen sind zunehmend in nationalen Parlamenten vertreten, aber in den parlamentarischen Außen- und Verteidigungs-Ausschüssen dauert es bis zur Parität noch fast 100 Jahre.

Diplomatie: Obwohl Frauen 43% des diplomatischen Korps ausmachen, sind nur etwa 25% der Botschafter*innen der EU und G20 Frauen.

Militär: Gegenwärtig liegt der Frauenanteil bei etwa 11% Tendenz steigend, wenn auch sehr langsam: Bis zur Parität wird es ungefähr 325 (EU) und 465 (NATO) Jahre dauern, basierend auf dem erzielten Fortschritt zwischen 2009 und 2018.

Polizei: Der durchschnittliche Frauenanteil bei den Polizeikräften der im Index vertretenen Länder beträgt 25%. Wenn es im gleichen Tempo weitergeht wie zwischen 2009 und 2017, dann gibt es erst in 58 Jahren Parität.

Zivile und militärische Missionen: Während wir bei den Führungspositionen von UN-Friedensmissionen nur noch um die 5 Jahre bis zur Parität brauchen werden, liegt der Anteil der Frauen im Militärpersonal dieser Missionen bei unter 5%. Um die EU-Missionen steht es noch schlimmer: Keine Frau war jemals Kommandantin und/oder stellvertretende Befehlshaberin einer militärischen GSVP-Mission.

Wirtschaft: In den Vorständen von Waffenherstellern machen Frauen in Deutschland nur 6% aus, in den USA sind es 23%. Diese Zahl ist viel niedriger als die Zahl der Vorstandsmitglieder von Unternehmen in anderen Wirtschaftssektoren.

Es gibt also noch einiges zu tun!

Der Launch des Berichts wurde von vielen Medien aufgegiffen, z.B. Politico, Spiegel, euractiv, RND, La Vanguardia oder evangelisch.de, sowie zudem von der Europäischen Kommission:

Ohne Frauen ist Frieden nur schwer zu erreichen. Auch deshalb brauchen wir eine lückenlose Datenlage, und Quoten da, wo es geht. Klar ist auch: Ein höherer Frauenanteil alleine reicht nicht aus; es braucht strukturelle Änderungen. Passend zum Start der #SHEcurity-Kampagne wurde daher am Freitag mein und MEP Ernest Urtasuns Bericht zur Geschlechtergerechtigkeit in der EU-Außenpolitik vom Parlament verabschiedet. Ein wichtiger erster Schritt!

Worum es darin genau geht, seht ihr hier:

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Neueste Artikel