Skip to content

Conspiracy theorists, Nazis and hippies side by side: My observations at the anti-Corona demonstration

Members of the European Parliament, like all members of parliaments, have the right to accompany demonstrations as observers. I made use of this right last Saturday, when some 18,000 critics of the Federal Government's corona policy took to the streets in Berlin. I shared my impressions on twitter during the day. 

It was already clear in advance that the atmosphere would be tense: The city of Berlin had banned the demonstration in advance, but this ban had been overturned by the Berlin district court. Right-wing radicals had called for a "Storming of Berlin".

The participants turned out to be a mixture of Reich citizens, Nazis, conspiracy theorists, hippies, anti-vaccination activists and some people who allegedly only fear for their democratic rights. Hardly anyone kept their distance, and I was often the only one wearing a mask.

The counter-demonstration at Bebelplatz was a different story: Nearly all participants kept their distance and wore masks. They shouted: "You march with Nazis and fascists". 

Towards the end the situation became increasingly acute. The request of the police to break up the demonstration due to non-compliance with hygiene regulations was ignored by the demonstrators, and this remained largely without consequences. The attempt by a group of Reich citizens to storm the Reichstag will probably remain the most prominent memory of this day. 

If a similar demonstration is allowed again, I will definitely try to be there as an observer. One thing is clear: For those who joined this demonstration, it was less of a problem to march with Nazis than to wear a mouth and nose protection. 

Subsequently, the Berlin Senate issued a decree that requires the covering of mouth and nose for future events with over 100 participants. 

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Latest Articles

Skip to content

Verschwörungstheoretiker*innen, Nazis und Hippies nebeneinander: Meine Beobachtungen bei der Anti-Corona-Demonstration

Europaabgeordnete, sowie alle Parlamentsabgeordnete, haben das Recht, Demonstrationen als Beobachter*innen zu begleiten. Von diesem Recht habe ich letzten Samstag Gebrauch gemacht, als etwa 18.000 Kritiker*innen der Coronapolitik der Bundesregierung in Berlin auf die Straße gingen. Auf Twitter habe ich den Tag über meine Eindrücke geteilt. 

Bereits im Vorfeld war klar, dass die Stimmung angespannt sein würde: Die Stadt Berlin hatte die Demonstration im Vorfeld verboten, aber dieses Verbot war duch das Berliner Amtsgericht gekippt worden. Rechtsradikale hatten zum „Sturm auf Berlin“ aufgerufen.

Die Teilnehmer*innen stellten sich heraus als ein Mischung aus Reichsbürger*innen, Nazis, Verschwörungstheoretiker*innen, Hippies, Impfgegner*innen und einigen Personen, die angeblich lediglich ihre demokratischen Rechte in Gefahr sehen. Abstand hielt hier kaum jemand, und ich war oft die einzige mit Mund-Nasen-Schutz.

Bei der Gegendemonstration am Bebelplatz sah das anders aus: Fast alle Demoteilnehmer*innen hielten Abstand und trugen Maske. Sie riefen: „Ihr marschiert mit Nazis und Faschisten“. 

Zum Ende hin spitzte sich die Lage vermehrt zu. Die Aufforderung der Polizei, die Demonstration aufgrund Nichteinhaltung der Hygienebestimmungen aufzulösen, wurde von den Demonstrant*innen ignoriert, und das blieb weitgehend ohne Konsequenzen. Der Versuch einer Gruppe Reichsbürger*innen, den Reichstag zu stürmen, wird von diesem Tag wohl am stärksten im Gedächtnis bleiben. 

Falls eine ähnliche Demonstration erneut zugelassen wird, werde ich auf jeden Fall versuchen, wieder als Beobachterin dabei zu sein. Eins ist klar: Wer hier mitlief, für den*die war es ein geringeres Problem, mit Nazis zu marschieren, als einen Mund-Nasen-Schutz zu tragen. 

Im Nachgang hat der Berliner Senat im Nachgang eine Verordnung erlassen, die für zukünftige Veranstaltungen mit über 100 Teilnehmer*innen die Bedeckung von Mund und Nase vorschreibt. 

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Neueste Artikel