Skip to content

Syria Donor Conference: It's only together that the EU can influence Syria's future

Today, the 4th Syria Donor Conference takes place in Brussels. It may get less attention than it deserves due to the Covid-19 crisis.

At present, a generation of children marked by war is growing up in Syria. The war has been ongoing for 10 years, and the youngest are particularly hard hit when funds aren’t available. These children lack everything: food, education and of course a safe environment, which is crucial for mental health. This is the very future of Syria being gambled away.

A window of opportunity is now opening up for the EU. The union is already the largest donor of humanitarian aid. In future, the EU will also have to finance reconstruction measures, and should use the funds strategically: to ensure access to humanitarian aid for all, to finance projects outside the control of the regime and to drive forward political processes.

One thing is clear: there can be no "normalisation" of relations with the Assad regime. As access to the International Criminal Court is blocked due to Russia's blockade, alternative ways must be found to bring those responsible in Syria to justice. Universal jurisdiction is one possibility here. One example is a trial in Koblenz in Germany, where a former officer of the Assad regime has been taken to court for alleged human rights violations. EU Member States should join forces and pool resources and expertise for such trials.

The war in Syria is too important to be put off with a donor conference. The EU must make use of the opportunities currently available. And it must ensure that member states do not act bilaterally, or even get in the way of each other. It’s only united that the EU can influence Syria's future. It cannot let down the people in the region, who have been suffering for a decade.

EU member states must work together

The war in Syria is too important to be put off with a donor conference.

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Latest Articles

Skip to content

Syrien-Geberkonferenz: Nur gemeinsam hat die EU Einflussmöglichkeiten

Heute findet die 4. Syrien-Geberkonferenz in Brüssel statt. Im Schatten der europäischen Coronakrise droht sie weniger Beachtung zu finden.

Derweil wächst in Syrien eine Generation der Kriegskinder heran. Seit 10 Jahren herrscht Krieg. Und die Jüngsten trifft es besonders hart, wenn Gelder fehlen. Ihnen fehlt an allem: Essen, Bildung und natürlich einer sicheren Umgebung, die so wichtig ist für die psychische Gesundheit. Damit wird gerade die Zukunft Syriens verspielt.

Für die EU öffnet sich gerade ein Fenster der Möglichkeiten. Denn sie ist bereits die größte Geberin humanitärer Hilfe. Zukünftig wird die EU auch Wiederaufbaumaßnahmen finanzieren müssen, und sollte dies strategisch nutzen: um allen den Zugang zu humanitärer Hilfe zu gewähren, Projekte außerhalb der Kontrolle des Regimes zu finanzieren und politische Prozesse voranzutreiben.

Klar ist: Eine „Normalisierung“ der Beziehungen mit dem Assad-Regime kann es nicht geben. Weil der Zugang zum Internationalen Strafgerichtshof wegen der Blockade Russlands versperrt ist, muss man alternative Wege gehen, um die Verantwortlichen in Syrien zur Rechenschaft zu ziehen. Die universelle Gerichtsbarkeit ist hier eine Möglichkeit – das zeigt nicht zuletzt der Prozess in Koblenz, wo ein ehemaliger Offizier des Assad-Regimes wegen mutmaßlicher Menschenrechtsverletzungen vor Gericht steht. Die EU-Mitgliedstaaten sollten sich zusammentun und Ressourcen und Fachwissen für solche Gerichtsverfahren bündeln.

Der Krieg in Syrien ist zu wichtig, um ihn mit einer Geberkonferenz abzuhaken. Die EU muss die Möglichkeiten nutzen, die sich hier gerade bieten. Auch, damit Mitgliedsstaaten nicht bilateral, und teils gegeneinander, agieren. Nur gemeinsam hat die EU Einflussmöglichkeiten auf Syriens Zukunft. Im Sinne der Menschen in der Region, die seit einem Jahrzehnt leiden, muss sie diese nutzen.“

Die EU-Mitgliedsstaaten müssen sich zusammentun

Der Krieg in Syrien ist zu wichtig, um ihn mit einer Geberkonferenz abzuhaken.

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Neueste Artikel